Year 2, day 255 (01/30/2017)Monday

Last Friday they did a CT scan and took some blood.

The first few times I got scanned, I was anxious about the results, this time I really didn’t think much about it over the weekend.

After work today I had a video conference with my oncologist.

He indicated that my LDH blood level had been higher than normal since I had been diagnosed, even a few months after my stem cell transplant. But now my levels have dropped into the normal range.

Additionally my lymph nodes appear to have shrunk a bit more around my intestines where the activity was before.

My doctor for the first time “feels really good” about the possibility that I may be in full remission. (this is a first for my treatment)

Soooooo, I will be losing my port the APE XXXL 2000 soon, the order was placed and I am told it is an outpatient procedure that can be performed during an office visit.

I suspect for infections sake they will not allow me to keep it as a memento. I am not too broken up about it.

Plan for the future will be:
No more CT scans unless I present new symptoms (night sweats, bowel issues, lumps, etc) or my LDH blood marker rockets up above normal levels again.

I will conference with the doctor or his PA every two months, probably for a couple of years.

I will have to get my blood drawn, like normal people (needle stick), once my port is removed. Again every two months.

If I am in remission, this is the final stages of the treatment and monitoring, but I suspect one is never called cured, but in remission.

I feel great, except for the numb feet and occasional muscle cramps, not much worse for wear.

I will continue to receive my vaccinations until I am declared “caught up” and my little vaccination log book is covered in ink.

I am so thankful for all the prayers, support and well wishes. It has make this journey a much easier path to walk. And given the unusual post stem cell transplant activity (My doctor was sure I still had active cancer) heavenly father may well have stepped in to end the disease.

I wish you all an appreciation of life and the beauty in it.

Beauty is everywhere and an effort to look for is will be worth the effort.

I will continue to post after each check up and vaccination as others that may read this getting similar treatments can hopefully find it useful for their own planning and expectations.

Year 2, day 255 (01/30/2017)Monday

Leave a comment